One thing that I constantly hear from players is a complaint about Shuriken weapons and the AP 2 ability.

Personally, I hate the way Shuriken weapons work at the moment. The 12 inch range on catapults is a joke in my opinion.

In 40k, 12 inch range is the standard for pistols and shotguns. The shuriken catapult seems to fill the role of a super shotgun.

I know that a while back some folks in GW took the view that the Guardians where a force of last resort, or desperation, but seriously, when have any reserve force in any military been given a weapon akin to a shotgun as their standard armament?

(Not talking about ship crew or boarding parties now, standard field reservists)

(No doubt someone will point one out, but you know what I mean). Eldar are a dying race and sending them out in poor armour with a really short range weapon is crazy sauce. I don’t really think that they should have 5+ armour either. At the very least, I’d like them to change that up to a 5+ save, but 4+ against blast and templates. Basically, back to the old days when flakk and mesh armour was better against blasts and stuff.

Right, back on track. Dire Avengers get 18 inch range. Now, why a vehicle, or jetbike doesn’t also have the same range is beyond me. They are mounted weapons, with access to more ammunition feeds/capacity and they should have gyro-stabilisers and targeting equipment. The problem is, how do you keep Avenger catapults better?

For me, one solution is as follows:

Make shuriken catapults 18 inch range. (24 would be even better, but maybe that’s heading into cheese land).

Change the Bladestorm rule as follows:

The AP on shuriken catapults increases to 4, not 2.

On Avenger catapults it would be AP 3, not 2.

On Shuriken Cannons it is AP 2.

I feel that this keeps Dire Avengers useful, as they ignore standard power armour, whereas Guardian catapults won’t.

What do people think of that idea?

